Laws and Regulations
The Division of Wage and Hour Compliance administers and enforces New Jersey State Labor Laws by enforcing a minimum wage, methods of wage payment and by enforcing the laws concerning the employment of children.
The Division of Wage and Hour Compliance regulates the following workplace labor standards:
MINIMUM WAGE - The New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law establishes a minimum wage rate and overtime rate for all workers in New Jersey that are covered by the Act.
Effective January 1, 2015, the minimum wage rate in New Jersey is $8.38 per hour.
The minimum wage will remain $8.38 for 2016.
OVERTIME WAGE RATE - The New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law requires the payment of time and one half per hour for actual hours worked in excess of 40 hours, with certain exemptions.
UNPAID OR WITHHELD WAGES - The New Jersey State Wage Payment Law stipulates the time, manner and mode of payment, and prohibits the withholding of wages for illegal deductions, such as breakage, spillage and cash register shortages.
FRINGE BENEFITS - The New Jersey Wage Payment Law and Selected Labor Laws enforce separate benefit packages which the employer has agreed to provide, such as payment of holidays, vacation, sick leave and personal days, and reimbursement of certain expenses.
SHELTERED WORKSHOP - The New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law authorizes the employment of individuals with disabilities by charitable organizations or institutions at a rate less than the minimum wage, and requires the issuing of special permits detailing the duration, type of work performed and the payment of commensurate wages.
EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS - The New Jersey Child Labor Law and Regulations specify the hours of work for minors, the type of occupations permitted to be performed, and the issuance of proper employment certificates for all minors under 18 years of age.
FARM LABOR - The New Jersey Crew Leader Registration Act and Selected Farm Labor Laws require the registration of crew leaders, and outlines minimum wage and wage payment standards, and authorizes the investigation and site inspection of migrant farm labor camps, drinking water and toilet facilities, contractors, growers and food processors operating in the State of New Jersey.
APPAREL INDUSTRY - The New Jersey Apparel Registration Act requires the registration of anyone engaged in manufacturing or contracting in the apparel or embroidery industries in New Jersey as well as any person outside the State who contracts to perform work in the State of New Jersey.
INDUSTRIAL HOMEWORK - The New Jersey Industrial Homework Law and Regulations require the issuing of licenses, permits and certificates for employers and home-based businesses involved in the manufacturing, altering, finishing and distribution of certain articles, materials and goods. The manufacturing of apparel in the home by a home worker performing work for an apparel manufacturer or contractor is prohibited.
MANDATORY OVERTIME RESTRICTIONS (applies only to health care workers) - The New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law stipulates the conditions under which health care facilities may require certain hourly employees to work overtime.
STATE BUILDING SERVICE CONTRACTS - The State Building Service Contracts Act stipulates the payment of federal wage and benefit rates for workers performing "building services" for properties or premises owned or leased by the State.
CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR ACT - The Construction Industry Independent Contractor Act concerns the improper classification of employees as independent contractors in the construction industry.
PUBLIC CONTRACTS - The New Jersey Prevailing Wage Act stipulates the payment of prevailing wage rates for workers on construction projects that are subsidized by public funds, and establishes a fair bidding mechanism for both union and non-union workers.
CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION - The Public Works Contractor Registration Act establishes a unified procedure for the registration of contractors and subcontractors engaged in public works building projects. Requires an annual registration fee of $300 and after successful completion of two consecutive years of registration, a contractor may elect to register for a two year period and pay a registration of $500.
If you wish to view:
New Jersey State Wage and Hour Laws and Regulations
Selected New Jersey State Labor Laws and Regulations
New Jersey State Child Labor Laws and Regulations
New Jersey State Seasonal Farm Labor Act, Crew Leader's Registration Act and Drinking Water and Toilet Facilities Act and Regulations
New Jersey State Apparel Registration Act and Regulations
New Jersey Industrial Homework Law and Regulations
New Jersey State Mandatory Overtime Restrictions for Health Care Workers
State Building Service Contracts Act
Construction Industry Independent Contractor Act
Prevailing Wage Act and Regulations
These statute and rule reprints are for ready reference only. For official text consult the New Jersey Statutes Annotated and the New Jersey Administrative Code.
For additional information or assistance regarding any particular laws or regulations, contact:
NJ Department of Labor & Workforce Development
Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
P.O. Box 389
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389