02-11-11 New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Releases Minimum Wage Advisory Commission Report Commission Recommends Minimum Wage Remain at Current Level
“Recognizing that New Jersey has experienced little or no inflation as we recover slowly from the national recession, the Commission concluded that the minimum wage should remain at its current level of $7.25 per hour,” said Commissioner Wirths, who also serves as the Chairman of the Minimum Wage Advisory Commission.
The New Jersey Minimum Wage Advisory Commission is charged with reporting annually to the Governor and the Legislature on its findings regarding the adequacy of the State’s minimum wage and its recommendations as to whether the minimum wage should be raised and, if so, to what level.
A full range of factors were evaluated in this year’s assessment. These considerations included overall cost of living in the state; cost of living in New Jersey compared to that of other states as well as self sufficiency standards established as goals for State and federal employment and training services.
New Jersey’s minimum wage of $7.25 is consistent with all of its neighboring states including New York, Pennsylvania and Delaware.
In addition to the Commissioner, the members of the Minimum Wage Advisory Commission comprise representatives from the business and labor communities.
Full text of the report is available at http://lwd.state.nj.us/labor/forms_pdfs/lwdhome/NJMinimumWageAdvisoryCommReport2011.pdf.