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STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

DIVISION OF WAGE AND HOUR COMPLIANCE 

Notice of Administrative Change 
N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1 

Minimum Wage 
 
Take notice that the Department of Labor and Workforce Development has 

requested, and the Office of Administrative Law has agreed to permit, an administrative 

change to N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(a).  In pertinent part, that subsection states that “except as 

provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2, every employee shall, effective January 1, 2014, be paid 

not less than $8.25 per hour, the minimum hourly wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the 

Federal ‘Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938’ (29 U.S.C. §206(a)(1)), or the rate provided 

under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4, whichever is greatest.”  Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(b), 

on an annual basis, on or about September 30, the Department shall revise the minimum 

hourly wage rate, “based on any percentage increase during the one-year period of 

August of the prior year through August of the current year of the consumer price index 

(CPI) for all urban wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as 

released by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.”  

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1 indicates further that the Department shall annually, (1) through a 

public notice published in the New Jersey Register, provide the new CPI-adjusted 

minimum hourly wage rate, and (2) no later than September 30 of each year, publish the 

afore-mentioned public notice on the Department’s website.  The percent increase in the 

CPI-W, U.S. City Average, for the one-year period, August 2013 through August 2014, 

is 1.59 percent.  That is, the CPI-W, U.S. City Average, in August 2013 was 230.359, 
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and in August 2014 it was 234.030.  Consequently, the change in the index over the 

one-year period equals 3.671, or an increase of 1.59 percent (3.671/230.359x100).  

Using as a base for the calculation the current New Jersey minimum hourly wage rate of 

$8.25 (since as of this date, $8.25 is greater than both the minimum hourly wage rate set 

by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act and the rate provided under 

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4), a 1.59 percent increase (rounded to the nearest penny) is $0.13, 

yielding an adjusted State minimum hourly wage rate, effective January 1, 2015, of 

$8.38.  Therefore, pursuant to Article 1, Paragraph 23, of the New Jersey 

Constitution, and N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(b), the State minimum hourly wage rate, 

effective January 1, 2015, must be changed from $8.25 to $8.38.  This requires 

making two administrative changes to N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(a): (1) the date, January 1, 

2014, must be replaced by the date, January 1, 2015, and (2) the amount, $8.25, must be 

replaced by the amount, $8.38. 

 

Full text of the changed rule follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; 

deletions indicated in brackets [thus]): 

 

12:56-3.1 Statutory minimum wage rates for specific years 

(a) Except as provided in N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2, every employee shall, effective 

[January 1, 2014] January 1, 2015, be paid not less than [$8.25] $8.38 per hour, the 

minimum hourly wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal “Fair Labor Standards 

Act of 1938” (29 U.S.C. §206(a)(1)), or the rate provided under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4, 

whichever is greatest. 

(b) (No change.) 

(c) (No change.) 

 


