New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Division of Public Safety and Occupational Safety & Health ¢ Mechanical Inspection Bureau of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Compliance
P.O. Box 392 e Trenton, NJ 08625-0392

Stationary, Refrigeration, Power Engineer and/or Boiler Operator’s License

RENEWAL APPLICATION

This is an application to renew a Stationary, Refrigeration, Power Generating Engineer or Boiler Operator’s License that was issued by the
Mechanical Inspection Bureau of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Compliance. Licensees may renew a license within 60 days before its
expiration date [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.19(c)]. To renew any of the abovementioned licenses, send the following 3 required items to the
address at the top of this form:
1 - Completed application
2 - Signed identification card
3 - Money order or certified/cashiers or business check, for the appropriate renewal fee, made payable to the “Commissioner of LWD.”
For a license that is not expired:
e 1-year renewal fee is $40
¢ 3-year renewal fee is $80
¢ Duplicate part-time license is $6. Only the employer (not an operator) where the license is being used may apply to renew a
duplicate part-time license. It is valid for 1 year. See item #7 on page 2 for more information.
NOTE: These fees apply only to a non-expired license holder. Details about acceptable renewals, fees, and other pertinent facts
appear on the following pages of this application.
You must provide all of the information requested on this application to renew the license. This information is used to maintain an accurate
record of license holders in New Jersey. You must provide employer information, even if you are not using the license at your current place
of employment. Note: If you are retired or unemployed, you need not complete the Employer Information section; please “check the box”
in that section that applies.

TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY IN INK. ALL INFORMATION MUST BE PROVIDED.

Check the correct box

For your renewal: 1 1-Year Renewal - $40.00 O 3-Year Renewal - $80.00 1 Duplicate Part-Time License Renewal - $6.00

Licensee Information

License Number Amount Enclosed
Name Physical Street Address
Print Clearly
Mailing Address Email
Must provide if different from the physical address above

City State ZIP Code
Home Phone ( ) Cell Phone ( )

Employer Information Q Does not apply — not currently working Q Retired — not currently working

Tax ID or EIN (9-digit number) {See Item #12 for a detailed explanation}

Current Employer

Physical Street Address Mailing Address

City State ZIP Code

Telephone ( ) Employer Contact Email:
Signature of Licensee Date
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General Information for Licenses and Renewals

. Important Note: A first-time license is valid for only 1 year from the date it is issued. To keep the license
active and to avoid a late fee and/or penalty, you must renew the licenses before the date of expiration.
You may renew your license for a 1-year period or a 3-year period [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.19(a)].

. Expiration Date Format: MM/DD/YYYY = Month/Date/Year (for example, 02/25/2005 is February 25,
2005)

. Renewing a License — A license may be renewed 60 days before it expires, or when you receive a
“Renewal Notification” from this agency. Apply to renew your license by completing this application.

. Acceptable Renewals — Licenses may be renewed if any outstanding penalties or judgments are paid,
and if a license has not been expired more than 3 years. (NOTE: If a license renewal is more than 3 years
overdue, the license is inactive and therefore not renewable. In accordance with the provisions
established by law, records of inactive licenses may be destroyed [N.J.S.A. 34:7-3]. An application to
renew a license that expired more than 3 years ago is considered an original application.

. Renewal Fee, Late — A late renewal (up to 3 months past expiration) is allowed, provided that the
appropriate fee is paid (560 for a 1-year renewal; $120 for a 3-year renewal). Renewals that are 4
months or more overdue are assessed a penalty. If your license expired at least 4 months ago, it is
imperative that you call 609-292-2921 to find out the penalty fee required to renew an expired license.

. Renewal Fee, Lost — This agency assumes no liability and is not responsible for any fee that is not
received on time or that is lost while in transit.

. Duplicate Licenses for Part-time Employment — Duplicate licenses for part-time employment are issued
or renewed at the discretion of the Commissioner. The licensee must submit to this Examining Board:

> a written request for a duplicate license indicating the company where license will be held

> a legible copy of either your license certificate or the ID card

From the Employer — The employer who intends to hire the licensee must send, on company letterhead
the identity of licensee by their name, license number, and their address. Employer must indicate their
plans to designate the specific licensee as a per diem employee, and must request issuance of the
duplicate part-time license for a plant location indicated by name. The letter must also contain:

> the New Jersey jurisdiction number for every piece of equipment that requires an engineer or
operator’s license. This number is found in the upper left corner of the certificate of inspection.
This number should be clearly displayed on the front of the equipment.

> the name of the equipment manufacturer and model number, and the National Board number of
every piece of equipment requiring a licensed person.

> the total interconnected capacity of the equipment found in the plant where the license will be
used.

> the safety valve settings and the maximum allowable working pressure of the equipment requiring
a licensed person.

Any request letter missing any of the information detailed above will be denied.

An email request is acceptable only if on company letterhead and electronically signed or a scanned
electronic signature, by a management representative of the company where the license holder will be
employed. In addition, this agency must receive a hard copy of the letter within 3 working days receipt
of the licensee’s request, mailed to the address on the top of page 1 of this form.

The duplicate license will be issued to the employer of the part-time licensed operator, and will specify
the plant where it is to be used. The license is not valid at or transferable to any other facility. Duplicate
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10.

11.

12.

part-time licenses are valid for only 1 year and must be renewed each year. The fee for a new duplicate part-
time license is $16. The annual renewal fee is $6. The employer must pay the duplicate part-time license fee;
make the check or money order payable to the Commissioner of LWD and mail it to the address provided.

To renew a duplicate part-time license, both the license holder and the employer must submit written request.
The letter from the license-holder must state that he or she is still employed by the company.

. Change of Address — Every licensee must notify this agency of any change in residence [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.2(j)].

When doing so, provide your name, current address, license number and Social Security number.

. Posting the License — All ORIGINAL licenses must be framed and properly posted adjacent to the equipment

requiring the license, or in the engineer’s office or plant office, whichever is suitable. Failure to post an

ORIGINAL license may result in a penalty of at least $500 against the operator, supervisor and/or management
[N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.17(c)].

Replacing a License or ID card — An altered, defaced, or otherwise mutilated license or identification card
will be replaced only after review by this agency. Photostats, photographs or reproductions of a license are

neither valid nor recognized. A fee of $10 will be imposed for a replacement license and $6 for a replacement ID
card.

Suspension or Revocation of License — An operator’s license may be suspended or revoked for
incompetence, negligence, intoxication, or drug abuse while on duty, or for any other valid reason establishing
that the licensee is unfit to hold a license. Any person who uses an expired license to perform the duties of a
licensee is subject to a penalty of at least $S500, and up to $5,000, per day. The supervisor and/or employer also
may be subject to a similar penalty. A licensee whose license is suspended or revoked has the right to request a
hearing conducted by one or more members of the Examining Board [N.J.A.C. 12:90-8.18(f)]. If you fail to appear
for a scheduled hearing, your license will be suspended indefinitely. A licensee who disagrees with the decision
of the Examining Board may appeal to the Commissioner, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:90-9.

Tax ID or EIN — An employer’s tax ID, also known as Employer Identification Number (EIN) or Federal
Employer Identification Number (FEIN), is a 9-digit number that the IRS assigns to business entities. This number
identifies taxpayers required to file business tax returns. EINs are used by employers, sole proprietors,
corporations, partnerships, non-profit organizations, trusts and estates, government agencies, certain
individuals and other business entities. Your company must supply their EIN to you for completion of this
renewal application. You may also obtain your employer’s EIN from your W-2 tax form.
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